General Information

Flag of Kyrgyzstan

Kyrgyzstan – a small, mountainous country, stretching between the mountains and valleys of the Northern Tien-Shan. Modern Kyrgyzstan – tolerant country. It is home to over 80 ethnic groups, creating a rich diversity of cultures and traditions. It borders with Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan and China.
Kyrgyzstan is extremely rich in natural resources. It played an important role for its geographical location on the Silk Road from the II century to the end of the Middle Ages. It has great potential for international tourism.

Location: north-east of Central Asia. 

Capital: Bishkek
Date of Independence: 31 August, 1991.
Languages: Kyrgyz – national, Russian – official.
Government: Parliamentary republic.
Currency: Kyrgyz som (KGS, code 417)
Telephone code: +996
Local Time: UTC +5
Territory: 199.900 km² (5,8% – forests, 4.4% – water, 53.3% – agricultural land, 36.5% – other lands). Almost 90% is located above 1500 m above sea level.
Population as of November 26, 2015 – 6 million Man.
Religion: Islam – 75%, Orthodox – 20%, other religions – 5%.
Electricity: 220 v, 50 Hz, standard-pin plug socket. Have connectors and converters for other standard.
Big cities: Osh (255.800), Jalal-Abad (98.400), Karakol (68.000).

Administrative regions – (7)Chui, Talas, Issyk-Kul, Naryn, Jalal-Abad, Osh and Batken.
The highest point – Victory Peak – 7439 m.
The longest rivers, in km: Naryn – 535, Chatkal – 205, Chu-221.
The largest lakes,in km²: Issyk-Kul – 6236, Son-Kul – 275, Chatyr-Kul – 175.

Related Posts

Top 10 Destination in Kyrgyzstan

History Of Kyrgyzstan

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on whatsapp
Share on pinterest